The traditional definition of a sacrament is this: “A sacrament is a visible sign, instituted by Christ, to give grace.”

A Visible Sign

An action is performed by a minister (usually a priest) using some kind of matter (like bread, oil or water) following a specific ritual. For example, when a baby is baptized in the church the priest pours water over its head and at the same time says the words “I baptize you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.”

Instituted by Christ

The Lord Jesus Christ instructed His church to offer the seven sacraments to His followers. Following this instruction, the Christians of the Early Church celebrated the Sacraments and we do today too.

To Give Grace 

Grace is God’s free gift of Himself. In the Sacraments we know, without question, that God is present, that he influences us to follow in his ways and that he strengthens us for the journey ahead.

Sacraments of Initiation


The Sacrament of Baptism is often called “The door of the Church”, because it is the first of seven sacraments



The Eucharist is at the heart of our Christian lives. It is an invitation to union with Jesus and with his Church


The Sacrament of Confirmation is an opportunity for a Christian to declare his or her faith and receive the Holy Spirit

Sacraments of Healing


In the Sacrament of Reconciliation (Confession) we know, without question, that those who come seeking forgiveness truly receive it

Anointing of the Sick

The Anointing of the Sick (Last Rites) helps unite those who suffer to Jesus. and reminds all that Jesus does indeed heal.

Sacraments of Service


A covenant by which a man and a woman freely, faithfully, fully and totally offer themselves to each other for life

Holy Orders

This Sacrament helps strengthen men called to be deacons, priests or bishops to live out their duties to serve God's people